Welcome to Thee Nook

bits and pieces on Brighton and thee beyond…..

Ghost Photo

Posted by Sara on April 16, 2009

I took this photo last weekend when I visited the Sea Life centre; it’s a reconstruction of the beak of an octopus. Even though I’m telling myself it must be caused by a reflection in the glass, or some other such anomaly, I find the image of the eye in the upper left hand side wonderfully eerie. I’ve not doctored the picture in any way and I do not recognise the eye as my own or any one else’s who was with me at the time. It seems perfectly placed to create a rather fantastical, though menacing, looking creature. Sea Life is after all reputed to be haunted so who knows….?

beaky


4 Responses to “Ghost Photo”

  1. if you look closely you can see the rest of the face; head, nose and all

    rich

  2. Paul said

    Hi Sara, I find this photo facinating as I have investigated over 100 haunted places and taken many photos myself. However I have experienced anything as interesting as this. I am in the process of writing a book on Brighton Ghosts, and plan to use the Sealife Centre in one of the chapters. Would you be interested in being mentioned in it and maybe use your ghost photo too? I wouldn’t be able to pay as I have no money and it would only be a small local book, but it would be a great thing to be involved in, especially as this is so rare! Also, how many people were you with when the photo was taken, and were they very close to the glass at the time? Please email me if you have any more interesting info regarding the subject. I really hope there is a possibility of it being an actual ghost, as the staff there are alleged to have held an exorcism there a few years ago. This would prove that it failed!

  3. Sara said

    an exorcism? at sealife?! how exciting! Yeah sure, feel free to use the photo – I’m still intrigued by it myself. I thought it must have been my reflection when I first saw it but having had a closer look, I’m sure it’s not.
    Let us know how you get on with the book – looking forward to reading it!
    sara

  4. Paul said

    Yeah I read about the exorcism in an advert in the Evening Argus newspaper. It’ll be interesting to see if it actually went ahead after all! Thanks for letting me use the photo Sara and I will be in touch in the future.

Leave a Reply

 
