Welcome to Thee Nook

bits and pieces on Brighton and thee beyond…..

The Day

Posted by Sara on February 13, 2009

Upon a Sunday in June just gone,

  

Such good fortune came along,

 

Abundant pleasures filled my day,

 

Before I had a thing to say,

 

I walked a busy river bank,

 

Feeding birds who offered thanks,

 

I drunk ale in ancient inns,

 

With old soaks and wooden beams,

 

I took in Georgian squares and lanes,

 

And decommissioned old steam trains,

 

I had tea and walnut cake,

 

And frolicked on a boating lake,

 

I ate rare beef and crispy spuds,

 

Then washed roasting tins in suds,

 

Before laying down upon my bed,

 

And asking myself:

  

What have I achieved? 

by Dominic.

 

 

leaves

 

 

2 Responses to “The Day”

  1. ggw_bach said

    lovely pic, and lovely words.

    thanks for sharing.

    the day will come when we all ask –

    ” What have I achieved? “

  2. theenook said

    thank you, when I read through this poem I thought that perhaps the most any of us should wish for is to achieve a life full of special memories.

Leave a Reply

 
